It’s a Nice Day for a White Wedding Dress: Heart-Shaped Wedding Dress and Tuxedo Cookies

29 Jul

Despite the fact that I own upwards of 500 cookie cutters, when I decided to make wedding-themed cookies for an engagement party I decided to forgo the wedding cake and dress cutters and opt for the simple heart shape.  I had initially wanted to use my tuxedo and wedding dress stencils, but the cutter made a cookie larger than I would have liked.  I opted instead to pipe the design myself.

While the shape is simple, the possibilities for designs are endless.

Wedding party conga line!

View the entire edible collection, with some step-by-step instructions, below.

For the party, I decided to make 4 dozen cookies–2 dozen tuxedos and 2 dozen white wedding dresses.  I initially planned to do 4 or 5 different wedding dress designs and repeat them 4 or 5 times for 2 dozen dress cookies.  However, once I got ready to do the dress designs, I got carried away and ended up making more than 2 dozen different cookies.  Whoops!

Thirteen varied wedding dress designs on heart-shaped cookies.

Once I got started, I couldn’t stop!  I just did these freehand, but if you wanted to make cookies to match a bride’s dress, it wouldn’t be hard.

Thirteen more wedding dress designs on heart-shaped cookies.

To create these cookies, I used my KopyKake projector to trace the bust line onto the uniced cookie with an edible marker.

The bust line drawn onto uniced cookies with an orange edible food marker.

When making cookies with different color icings, I like to add the color that would logically be on the bottom first.  So, since a dress goes on over skin, I piped the flesh first.

Let the icing set and dry before adding the white icing.

After the skin color is set, fill the remaining cookie with the white icing.  After the white icing is set, let your imagination take you away on your blank canvas cookies!

For the tuxedo cookies, I used a chocolate cookie base.  Using the standard cookie base, I would have used black royal icing for the tuxedo jacket and bow tie.  For the chocolate cookies, I made a partially iced cookie with white icing for the shirt.  After the white icing was dry and set, I added black icing for the lapels, bow tie, and buttons.  I only made one type of tuxedo.

Delicious chocolate cookies and a small amount of icing make for a cookie that’s easy to make in larger numbers (especially if you blew your whole time budget on 30 different wedding dresses!).

Tuxedos?  Yawn.  Just like a real wedding, the focus is never the tuxedo–it’s all about the dress.  And like a real wedding dress, it’s all about the details–including accessories!  So after the dresses were dried, I added pearl necklaces and some dress straps.

I sorted the cookies into “collections” to give a better idea of the different designs that can be done with a steady hand and some royal icing.

Bustier-type wedding dresses

Dresses with banded designs.

Dresses with swirl designs

Beaded designs

Filigree-style dresses

Pearl-studded dresses. These were made with royal icing, but nonpareils would work, too.

Simple white dresses with minimal icing additions.  The style of straps can be varied, too!

Dresses with flower-style designs

Dresses with scalloped lines. See why going freehand isn’t always the best–I mean, who would wear a wedding dress that looks like fish scales?! Well, maybe Lady Gaga.

I love this snail dish!

2 Responses to “It’s a Nice Day for a White Wedding Dress: Heart-Shaped Wedding Dress and Tuxedo Cookies”

  1. Nancy July 29, 2012 at 8:22 AM #

    Chris…you continue to outdo yourself every time. These are gorgeous! One even looks like my wedding dress…from 20 yrs ago!

    • Taylor-Made Treats July 29, 2012 at 8:48 AM #

      Thanks, Nanc! Good to know at least one of my dress styles could be wearable!

Leave a comment